Panchang in Hindu Astrology or Indian vedic astrology is a sort of Hindu Almanac. Literally it means “Five Limbs (parts)”. It is an astrological diary that gives useful astrological information required by an astrologer. It is consulted for finding and selecting an appropriate and auspicious time for important occasions, ceremonies or actions like marriage, education, travel, starting new business or project, examination, interview etc.


So, basically, Panchang is used to match the current position of planets with the position of planets in a person’s astrological chart so as to find and if required, to look ahead to find astrologically good days and times for that person. It is an ancient method to synchronize our actions with good times so as to reduce obstacles and increase our chances for success. In other words, it helps in knowing what days and times are good for an individual and which ones may cause problems so as to avoid them. It is clear that Panchang is a helpful and practical use of Indian vedic astrology and with its help, we can know the nature and quality of any day in advance. The belief is that time is an energy having unique qualities which can be reined in for our comprehensive improvement.


Theory behind Panchang: Why follow Panchang?

The idea of panchang’s utility is at bottom the ancient belief or the law of nature according to which every action brings an equal and opposite reaction. So, when we act in harmony with our environment, our environment in turn exercise a harmonious influence on us. The fruit of acting in such fashion is the creation of harmony, peace and stability in our lives. Taking into consideration that time is a priceless resource, the knowledge of panchang enables one to understand the quality of a particular moment or time and thereby help one to live in tune with nature or time.

The five parts of Panchang are described below :

1. Din (vaar) or Day of the Week

2. Tithi or the Lunar day

3. Nakshatra or the Constellation

4. Yoga

5. Karan

1.Din (also called Vaar) (Day of the week): The days of the week along with the ruler planet in the brackets are:

Sunday (Sun)

Monday (Moon)

Tuesday (Mars)

Wednesday (Mercury)

Thursday (Jupiter)

Friday (Venus)

Saturday (Saturn)


Tithi (along with Paksha) is the day according to the Hindu lunar Calendar. The Hindu lunar calendar consists of a dark and a bright fortnight also called paksha). When the moon completes 12 degrees of its movement on the Sun, it is called a Tithi or Hindu lunar day. There are 30 tithis in a lunar month. Tithis belong to either Shukl paksh (the moon is waxing) or Krishna paksha (the moon is wanning). There are several rituals and festivals associated with Tithis. Most of the festivals fall on the new moon day (amavsaya) or the full moon day (poornma). It should be noted that starting and ending of a Tithi depends upon the degree of the Moon from that of the Sun. Ttherefore a Tithi can start or end at any time in a day.


The Hindu Tithis are classified into five types:

a. Nanda Tithi – bestows happiness and joy

b. Bhadra Tithi – good for starting new work

c. Jaya Tithi – good for winning over enemies

d. Rikta Tithi – not good for any important work, so it is avoided

e. Poorna Tithi – very good to complete all jobs

Shukla Paksha : 15 Tithis starting from New Moon to Full Moon (Poornima) constitue the Shukla Paksha.

Krishna Paksha: The 15 Tithis starting from the Full Moon to New Moon ( Amavasya) form the Krishna paksha.

Tithis are known by the following Hindu Names:


3. Nakshatra:

Nakshatras are the stellar constellations or Lunar mansions. Literally this word means “that which does not decay.”

There are twenty-seven Nakshatras considered in Vedic Astrology. Each one of them has thirteen degree and twenty minutes of the zodiac. Nakshatra can be known with help of degrees of Moon in a particular sign at the time of birth.

The Nakshatras influence the quality of the Rashi in which they are positioned. The sequence of the 27 Nakshatras begins with Ashwini Nakshatra in Mesha Rashi.

Each Nakshatra has a planetary lord used for Vimsottari Dasa and K.P. calculations. The years assigned to the signs are the Mahadasa durations of Vimsottari Dasa.


Share the post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
2 + 22 =